Thank you for your question.
I searched the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Is it legal to give a car as a gift to a family member, or do I have
to put a dollar figure on it (for example $1)?
It is legal to give a car to a family member or anyone else, however,
a bill of sale or an affidavit should be completed by both parties to
verify this information for the Department of Revenue.
For example, the Hillsborough County Tax Collector page notes the
Do I pay sales tax on a gift?
Sales tax is not applicable on a gift; however, a bill of sale or an
affidavit with the full description of the vehicle (including vehicle
identification number, title number, make, model, year, etc) should be
completed by both parties to verify this information for the
Department of Revenue.
Florida lists title and registration fees as follows:
What are the basic title fees?
New Vehicles $31.25
Vehicles previously registered in Florida $29.25
Vehicles previously registered in another state or country $33.25
Note: Add an additional $2.00 to the application fee when recording a
Lien add only $28.25
Title not required on trailers through 1999 pounds, mopeds or
What are the basic registration fees?
The 12-month registration period begins the first day of the owners
birth month. Company owned vehicles use the month of June. Full amount
is charged for the registration period regardless of when during the
registration period the vehicle is registered.
Classification Weight Annual Tax and Other Fees
Automobiles, private use thru 2499 pounds $27.60
Automobiles, private use 2500-3499 35.60
Automobiles, private use 3500 45.60
Trucks, private and commercial thru 1900 pounds 27.60
Trucks, private and commercial 2000-3000 35.60
Trucks, private and commercial 3001-5000 45.60
Transferring a license plate from another vehicle 4.60
When a new metal license plate is issued 10.00
Initial Registration fee 100.00
This is charged when applicant does not have a Florida registration to
So it appears that your total costs should fall in the vicinity of $60
for this transfer as a gift.
Florida Motor Vehicle +laws OR regulations +gift +tax
I trust my research has provided you with the information you require.
If a link above should fail to work or anything require further
explanation or research, please do post a Request for Clarification
prior to rating the answer and closing the question and I will be
pleased to assist further.