Google Answers Logo
View Question
 
Q: NFL football rules ( No Answer,   2 Comments )
Question  
Subject: NFL football rules
Category: Sports and Recreation
Asked by: garner-ga
List Price: $5.00
Posted: 04 Nov 2003 05:13 PST
Expires: 07 Nov 2003 18:56 PST
Question ID: 272446
If a ball hits the uprights or crossbar during a play from scrimmage,
is the ball then dead or is it still in play?

In the Denver/New England game 11/03/03, the Patriots attempted an
intentional safety by snapping the ball over their own punter's head,
in the endzone.  The ball struck the goal post portion in the field of
play and fell into the endzone.  A safety was awarded to the Broncos. 
Was the ball still live at that point, and could the Broncos have
recovered it for a touchdown?

Request for Question Clarification by justaskscott-ga on 05 Nov 2003 08:56 PST
Finding the actual rule is difficult online; the rules are not
published online, but rather in book form.  There is a digest of
rules, but this event is so unusual that it is not specifically
covered by the digest.

I have, however, found the official play-by-play for this game, which
indicates what the ruling on the field was.  Would that be a
sufficient answer?

Clarification of Question by garner-ga on 05 Nov 2003 09:36 PST
I watched the game and saw the play-by-play, so I think I know what
the ruling on the field was.  What I'm looking for is a specific
reference in the NFL Book of Playing Rules which defines the status of
the goalposts in that situation.

garner-ga
Answer  
There is no answer at this time.

Comments  
Subject: Re: NFL football rules
From: livioflores-ga on 05 Nov 2003 03:59 PST
 
I am not sure if this satisfy you as an answer, so I post it as a
comment, if you accept this as a proper answer, please let me know and
I will post it in the answers box.

The ball struck the goal post, and for this case the goal posts are
considered out of field (like ground), so the ball bounced out of the
field of play and then fell into the endzone, there was a safety.

Regards.
livioflores-ga
Subject: Re: NFL football rules
From: tar_heel_v-ga on 05 Nov 2003 11:01 PST
 
Only information I can find stating the ball is dead when hitting the goal post:

On a forward pass, if the ball hits the goal post, it is ruled
incomplete and and the ball is dead.
NFL.com: Digest of Rules
http://ww2.nfl.com/fans/rules/forwardpass.html

Any punt or missed field goal that touches a goal post is is dead.
NFL.com: Digest of Rules
http://ww2.nfl.com/fans/rules/kicksfromscrimmage.html

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at answers-support@google.com with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  


Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy