Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: highschool baseball ( Answered,   0 Comments )
Subject: highschool baseball
Category: Sports and Recreation > Team Sports
Asked by: 4danl-ga
List Price: $2.00
Posted: 24 Mar 2004 06:11 PST
Expires: 23 Apr 2004 07:11 PDT
Question ID: 319955
You are a highschool pitcher and pitch 3 innings and change positions after 3.
Your team is in the lead 1 to nothing and your team wins the game by a
score of 1 to nothing. Who is the winning pitcher, you or your
reliever ?
Subject: Re: highschool baseball
Answered By: mvguy-ga on 24 Mar 2004 06:41 PST
The reliever.

I have found two references to the rules of the National Federation of
State High School Associations.  (Unfortunately, the rules themselves
are not on the NFHS site.)  They indicate that the rules provide that
if a starting pitcher is ahead when leaving the game before completing
four innings, the win goes to the reliever that the official scorer
believes has done the most effective job.

See the rule mentioned on these pages:

Baseball Forums

Colonials Baseball

I hope this fully answers your question.



Google search term used: "winning pitcher" "high school"
There are no comments at this time.

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy