![]() |
|
![]() | ||
|
Subject:
Online Advertising Metrics
Category: Business and Money > Advertising and Marketing Asked by: mpclements-ga List Price: $10.00 |
Posted:
03 Jul 2002 08:28 PDT
Expires: 02 Aug 2002 08:28 PDT Question ID: 36206 |
What is the industry average for cost per click? In other words, how much do marketers spend to get one person to click onto their web sites. I am looking for numbers in terms of cents. For instance, I would spend $10,000 to get 10,000 visits/clicks to my site. My CPC would be $1.00. What are the different numbers for different campaigns (email, banner ads, Pay per click search engines, and overall)? I know there are industry averages for banner ad Click-through rate but I really need industry CPC numbers. Thanks |
![]() | ||
|
There is no answer at this time. |
![]() | ||
|
Subject:
Re: Online Advertising Metrics
From: otravers-ga on 03 Jul 2002 10:48 PDT |
These numbers vary above all depending on the lifetime value of customers in the business you're in. You won't spend the same amount of money per click if you're selling $10 widgets to consumers or $1,500 subscriptions to corporate buyers. Try bidding for keywords on Google Adwords Select, you'll see that some can be gotten for 5 cents, while others cost $5 a click or more (e.g. "insurance", "mortgage", "stock", "refinance", "concert" or "ticket"). |
Subject:
Re: Online Advertising Metrics
From: bollochs-ga on 04 Jul 2002 18:07 PDT |
First off that question can't be answered, and even if it could the answer would be meaningless unless broken down by sector. This is the highest CPC on the web. http://www.overture.com/d/search/?type=home&tm=1&Keywords=Mesothelioma+&_requestid=2096039 Making the full range - 1 cent to $48. Remember the CPC is so dependent on potential ROI, the competitive environment etc. that it not worth measuring averages across the board. Also it varies based on position. A top 3 place on Overture might cost you $3, where you could get the no.4 spot for $0.5. The difference being that you would not be getting the same level of traffic as only the top 3 links appear on most of Overtures partner sites. What I would say to you is avoid all scheme that promise you X amount of traffic for X$. They are bollocks, and/or have the potential to be scams. If you want to play the CPC game to start with I'd stick to using Overture and Google Adword Select, but make sure you know vaguely what you are doing first. A couple of articles that may help. Overture: http://www.paypermaster.com/autobid.html http://searchenginewatch.com/sereport/02/07-cpc.html Google Adword Select: http://www.searchengineguide.com/wi/2002/0327_wi1.html Forums: This is probably the best Overture forum on the net. If you go up a level there is also a very good Google forum. http://searchengineforums.com/bin/forumdisplay.cgi?action=topics&forum=GoTo.com+/+Overture+Forum&number=16&DaysPrune=20&LastLogin= The Pay per click advertising forum is also very good. http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum33/index.htm If you want any more advice, feel free to email me, my address in on this site http://netmarketing.blogspot.com - if I can I'll help out. I also have a list of decent resource on my site. Other resource links: http://dmoz.org/Business/Marketing/Internet_Marketing/Resources/Publications/ http://dmoz.org/Computers/Internet/Web_Design_and_Development/Promotion/Search_Engine_Submitting_and_Positioning/News/Search_Engine_Newsletters/ The following is quite good for helping you choose your keywords. For instance if you type in Internet Marketing - it shows what varient searches have been done for that phrase over the last month, i.e Internet Marketing Strategy. http://inventory.overture.com/d/searchinventory/suggestion/ As already said, the best thing to do is start interacting with people on the boards listed above. They won't give you all the info available, but they will stop you making costly errors. Hope that helps. Bob |
Subject:
The price is variable....
From: rabbitjoker-ga on 19 Jul 2002 19:13 PDT |
Based on my 4 years and nearly $15 million in online advertising sales, what I can tell you is that no answer is going to be perfectly right. In 1998, we were selling untargeted clicks for over $1.00 each. This was well before the proliferation of low-ball brokers who don't really care about the performance of the advertising - just the money they make from it. Realisticly for untargeted clicks, coming via a banner (not a search engine) you're probably going to pay somewhere between $0.25 and $0.40 CPC, depending on who you choose as your provider. Targeting adds to the cost (such as content targeting, geographic targeting, etc). Targeting can add as much as 50% to the costs quoted above. To be honest, I can buy you all the clicks you want @ $0.01 CPC, but are you really going to see the conversion that you need to be profitable? In the media game you really do get what you pay for. Also, beware of brokers or ad-networks that are really nothing more than brokers (flipping ad campaigns for a few points of margin). They generally aren't as flexible in trying to meet your needs and in my experience don't really give a damn about the advertisers $$$. A good option would be to split your budget into 3rds or quarters and buy on 3 or 4 media properties - distribute your risk, and lower your overall cost. If you want more info email me. |
If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at answers-support@google.com with the question ID listed above. Thank you. |
Search Google Answers for |
Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy |