Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: finance ( Answered 5 out of 5 stars,   0 Comments )
Subject: finance
Category: Business and Money > Finance
Asked by: helpmequick-ga
List Price: $5.00
Posted: 11 Feb 2006 13:42 PST
Expires: 13 Mar 2006 13:42 PST
Question ID: 444609
What is the Federal Open Market Committee? Who are its current members?
Subject: Re: finance
Answered By: weisstho-ga on 11 Feb 2006 23:15 PST
Rated:5 out of 5 stars
Dear Help:

The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States.
It was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer,
more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system. See . The four general functions
of the Fed are to (1) conduct monetary policy, (2) supervise banks and
protect consumer rights, (3) maintain stability of the financial
system, and (4) provide financial services to banks and governments. 
It is the monetary policy that is in the hands of the Federal Open
Market Committee (FOMC).

The FOMC consists of 12 members: the 7 members of the Board of
Governors (appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate to
14-year terms - only 5 are serving at this moment) and 5 of the 12
Federal Reserve Bank presidents (New York is always on the FOMC). The
FOMC is chaired by the Chairman of the Federal Reserve Board, Ben
Bernanke (who took the recently retired Alan Greenspan?s seat.)  The
Board of Governors can be found here: . A complete listing will be found
below.  The FOMC meetings are conducted in secret.

The FOMC sets interest rates either directly (by changing the discount
rate ? the rate charged for certain loans to banks) or through the use
of open market operations which is the buying and selling of U.S.
government securities which affects the ?federal funds rate.?  Here is
an outstanding primer on managing the money supply:

There are 8 scheduled FOMC meetings during the course of each year
though the FOMC can make inter-meeting rate changes if necessary to
effectuate changes in monetary policy.

Here is the outstanding website for the Federal Open Market Committee
of the Federal Reserve Board:


The 2006 Members of the FOMC:
Ben S. Bernanke, Board of Governors, Chairman
Timothy F. Geithner, New York, Vice Chairman
Susan Schmidt Bies, Board of Governors
Roger W. Ferguson, Jr., Board of Governors
Jack Guynn, Atlanta
Donald L. Kohn, Board of Governors
Jeffrey M. Lacker, Richmond
Mark W. Olson, Board of Governors
Sandra Pianalto, Cleveland
Janet L. Yellen, San Francisco

Alternate Members
Thomas M. Hoenig, Kansas City
Cathy E. Minehan, Boston
Michael H. Moskow, Chicago
William Poole, St. Louis
Christine M. Cumming, First Vice President, New York 


I hope this does the trick. If you have any questions or need anything
else to supplement this, please ask for Clarification.

Good Luck,


Search Strategy:

"open market committee"
"federal reserve board"
"monetary policy"
helpmequick-ga rated this answer:5 out of 5 stars

There are no comments at this time.

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy