Here you go. No, the card is considered played when placed on the
table and a card once played may not be withdrawn (see exceptions
"Played Card. The declarer plays a card from his own hand when he
places it on the table or when it is named as an intended play. When
the declarer touches a card in the dummy hand, it is considered played
(except when he is merely arranging the dummies cards). Alternatively,
the declarer may name a card in the dummy and such a card must be
played. A defender plays a card when he exposes it so that the other
defender can see its face. A card once played may not be withdrawn,
except to correct a revoke or other irregularity."
RETRACTION OF A CARD PLAYED
(Club Law 47)
A card once played may be withdrawn only
(a) to comply with a penalty, or to correct an illegal play, or to
correct the simultaneous play of two or more cards (see Law 58); if a
defender's card that has been exposed is withdrawn under this
subsection, it becomes a penalty card (see Law 50); or
(b) after a change of designation as permitted by Law 45(d), or
(c) after an opponent's change of play, to substitute a card for one played *, or
(d) to correct a play* after misinformation by an opponent. A lead out
of turn may be retracted without penalty if the leader was mistakenly
informed by an opponent that it was his turn to lead.
* The offending side must not base any subsequent plays on information
gained from such a withdrawn play."
Laws of Duplicate Contract Bridge
LAW 47 - RETRACTION OF CARD PLAYED (page 45)
A. To Comply with Penalty
A card once played may be withdrawn to comply with a penalty (but a
defender?s withdrawn card may become a penalty card, see Law 49).
B. To Correct an Illegal Play
A played card may be withdrawn to correct an illegal or simultaneous
play (see Law 58 for simultaneous play; and, for defenders, see Law
49, penalty card).
C. To Change an Inadvertent Designation
A played card may be withdrawn without penalty after a change of
designation as permitted by Law 45C4(b).
D. Following Opponent?s Change of Play
After an opponent?s change of play, a played card may be withdrawn
without penalty (but see 62C2) to substitute another card for the one
E. Change of Play Based on Misinformation
1. Lead Out of Turn
A lead out of turn may be retracted without penalty if the leader was
mistakenly informed by an opponent that it was his turn to lead (LHO
should not accept the lead).
2. Retraction of Play
(a) No One Has Subsequently Played
A player may retract the card he has played because of a mistaken
explanation of an opponent?s call or play and before a corrected
explanation, but only if no card was subsequently played to that
trick. An opening lead may not be retracted after dummy has faced any
(b) One or More Subsequent Plays Made
When it is too late to correct a play, under (a) preceding, Law 40C applies.
F. Illegal Retraction
Except as provided in A through E preceding, a card once played may
not be withdrawn.
I hope this helps. If you have any questions, please post a
clarification request and wait for me to respond before closing/rating
Google Search Terms Used: contract bridge rules withdraw card from play