Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: NBA conference champions ( No Answer,   2 Comments )
Subject: NBA conference champions
Category: Sports and Recreation > Team Sports
Asked by: stancranley-ga
List Price: $2.50
Posted: 08 Jun 2006 18:35 PDT
Expires: 09 Jun 2006 09:06 PDT
Question ID: 736564
In NBA basketball, sometimes the team with the conference's best
record does not reach the finals.

So can the term "Eastern Conference champs" or "Western Conference
champs" be used to refer to the team with the conference's best
record, or must it only refer the team that went to the finals?  If it
can refer to both cases, how is the term used MORE OFTEN?

There is no answer at this time.

Subject: Re: NBA conference champions
From: dudester123-ga on 09 Jun 2006 00:01 PDT
It can only be used for the team that went to the finals. It cannot be
used for the team with the best record in the regular season. There is
no leeway in this designation.
Subject: Re: NBA conference champions
From: stancranley-ga on 09 Jun 2006 09:05 PDT
That sounds right.  Thanks.

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy