Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: fraud ( Answered,   2 Comments )
Subject: fraud
Category: Business and Money > Small Businesses
Asked by: mcconnell27-ga
List Price: $2.00
Posted: 05 Aug 2006 07:18 PDT
Expires: 04 Sep 2006 07:18 PDT
Question ID: 752823
Does anyone know if the company "theotron" is a valid
company they asked me to pay by bank transfer for first payment and
their minimum purchase is 1000 dollers. they sent me a invoice with
everything on it. but say they dont accept another form of payment for
the first payment?

Request for Question Clarification by keystroke-ga on 05 Aug 2006 07:34 PDT
I believe the answer is a resounding yes.

I personally feel that answerfinder-ga is the perfect person for this
job, his answers on this type of subject are just amazing.

If he is happy with my analysis I will be happy to post as the answer.

Subject: Re: fraud
Answered By: scriptor-ga on 05 Aug 2006 09:28 PDT
Dear mcconnell27,

Unfortunately, my colleague keystroke-ga is wrong with his comment. is an obvious scam, for the following reasons:

- Their Web domain was allegedly registered by this individual:

Kelvin Purba(
jl. Cik Ditiro No.151
Sumatera Utara,20151
Tel. +061.081376250596

That is a fake address. The correct postal code of Cik Ditiro Road in
Medan is 20152, not 20151. Reputable companies don't use fake
addresses to register their domains; scammers do that.

- The alleged owner of the Web domain is located in Indonesia. Why
would a Singapore-based company register their domain through some
individual in Indonesia? There are domain providers in Singapore, too.
On the other hand, Indonesia is an infamous paradise for scammers, so
it's very probable that this is just another fraudster.

- The "company" claims to be in business since 2000. Yet, the domain
was registered only recently, on 15 February 2006. Does this mean that
an company with (according to their brazen website) "more than four
and one half million registered customers and more than 450 employees
globally" waited for 6 years before even registering a domain for
their company name? Hard to believe. Even more revealing: The domain
will expire after only one year, on 15 February 2007. This is typical
for scammers: They register short-lived "disposable" domains which
they simply abandon once they are not of use any longer.

- And, of course, there is no company of the name "Theotron" or
similar registered in Singapore, as the official Companies Register of
Singapore shows: is simply another Indonesia-based fraud. Don't trust them.

Subject: Re: fraud
From: myoarin-ga on 05 Aug 2006 08:07 PDT
"YES"?  I expect that is an answer to the subject and not to the
actual question, and I agree, looks very suspicious. 
Here is what says, note the creation and expiry dates for
the site:

"Registration Service Provided By: VITHOST.COM - WEB HOSTING & DOMAIN
Contact: +62.8153308995

Domain Name: THEOTRON.COM 

    Kelvin Purba        (
    jl. Cik Ditiro No.151
    Sumatera Utara,20151
    Tel. +061.081376250596

Creation Date: 15-Feb-2006  
Expiration Date: 15-Feb-2007

Domain servers in listed order:

Administrative Contact:
    Kelvin Purba        (
    jl. Cik Ditiro No.151
    Sumatera Utara,20151
    Tel. +061.081376250596

Technical Contact:
    Kelvin Purba        (
    jl. Cik Ditiro No.151
    Sumatera Utara,20151
    Tel. +061.081376250596

Billing Contact:
    Kelvin Purba        (
    jl. Cik Ditiro No.151
    Sumatera Utara,20151
    Tel. +061.081376250596

    Note: This Domain Name is currently Locked. In this status the domain
    name cannot be transferred, hijacked, or modified. The Owner of this
    domain name can easily change this status from their control panel. This
    feature is provided as a security measure against fraudulent
domain name hijacking.

Keystroke, you haven't yet seen Scriptor's work on this type of question.
There are many dubious websites based in Indonesia.  Scriptor often
documents that the addresses are non-existent or impossible street
numbers, wrong zip code for the address, etc., etc.

Two dollars is a bit low for the work involved  - and low in
consideration of money saved by avoiding a scam.

Take care, McConnell
Subject: Re: fraud
From: keystroke-ga on 05 Aug 2006 10:19 PDT
I better just clarify my response........I thought that the question
was "Is this company a fraud" (hence my link stating the fact they are
a fraudulent company).

I meant to say, "I believe the answer is a resounding yes, they are a
fraud." In my head I got the answer right, I just didn't put "they are
a fraud" :)


Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy