Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: Class 1 animal ( Answered 5 out of 5 stars,   0 Comments )
Subject: Class 1 animal
Category: Miscellaneous
Asked by: jard1-ga
List Price: $10.00
Posted: 05 Aug 2006 17:41 PDT
Expires: 04 Sep 2006 17:41 PDT
Question ID: 752963
Recently I was at a zoo and I heard a keeper talking at the polar bear
exhibit. Someone asked him how dangerous the bears were. In the course
of the answer he said they were "class 1" animals. I asked him what
"class 1" meant. He said he wasn't sure but that he thought that meant
they were really dangerous. I said does that make the elephants "class
1" because they can be really dangerous also, he didn't know. What
does "class 1" mean, and how do you rate the other animals? Thanks for
your help.

Request for Question Clarification by pinkfreud-ga on 05 Aug 2006 17:56 PDT
The designation "Class 1" in relation to a wild animal is usually a
reference to laws regarding restrictions on the ownership of such
animals and the issuing of permits for same. Each of the 50 states has
its own laws on such matters. If you'll tell me what state you're in,
I'll be glad to search for a list of Class 1 animals in your state.

Clarification of Question by jard1-ga on 05 Aug 2006 18:51 PDT
I am in the state of Florida
Subject: Re: Class 1 animal
Answered By: pinkfreud-ga on 05 Aug 2006 20:34 PDT
Rated:5 out of 5 stars
As I mentioned above, the designation "Class 1," when referring to a
wild animal, indicates the animal's status in regard to laws
concerning ownership conditions and restrictions. For the purpose of
permits for keeping wildlife in captivity, Florida categorizes animals
as Class I, Class I, and Class III. Class I is generally the larger,
more dangerous creatures such as lions and tigers and bears (oh, my!),
while Class II animals are generally smaller. Class III is a catch-all
category of "all other wildlife not listed herein".

Although the animals on the Class I list are dangerous (like the polar
bear mentioned in your question), that does not mean that Class II
animals are necessarily safe or docile. For example, cougars,
wolverines, cheetahs, alligators, and wolves are all Class II.

"Rule 68A-6.002, Categories of Captive Wildlife

For the purpose of public safety, wildlife has been divided into
several categories or classes that help define the behavioral
characteristics inherit in wild animals. Because husbandry and
security issues vary according to the size and temperament of the
species, applicants must meet certain qualifications specific to the
class of wildlife desired. Each class also has specific requirements
for caging construction and safety access. This Rule defines the
different wildlife classes. Class I, II, and III wildlife species are
defined. Class I wildlife are dangerous species and (i.e., lions,
tigers, chimpanzees) that may not be kept as personal pets and may
only be possessed for exhibition or other bona-fide uses under Chapter
372.921, F.S. Class II wildlife is potentially dangerous (i.e.,
cougars, wolves, macaques) and may only be possessed for exhibition or
sale and by experienced private individuals who can qualify to possess
them for personal use under Chapter 372.921 and Rule 68A-6.0022. Class
III wildlife includes all wildlife not listed as I or II."

Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission: Captive Wildlife Regulations

Below you'll find a list of Class I animals, as classified in the
Florida Administrative Code.

"68A-6.0011. Possession of Wildlife in Captivity; Permit

68A-6.002. Categories of Captive Wildlife.
(1) The Commission hereby establishes the following categories of wildlife:

(a) Class I:

1.  Chimpanzees (genus Pan)
2.  Gorillas (genus Gorilla)
3.  Gibbons (genus Hylobates)
4.  Drills and mandrills (genus Mandrillus)
5.  Orangutans (genus Pongo)
6.  Baboons (genus Papaio)
7.  Siamangs (genus Symphalangus)
8.  Gelada baboons (genus Theropithecus)
9.  Snow leopards (Panthera uncia)
10. Leopards (Panthera pardus)
11. Jaguars (Panthera onca)
12. Tigers (Panthera tigris)
13. Lions (Panthera leo)
14. Bears (family Ursidae)
15. Rhinoceros (family Rhinocerotidae)
16. Elephants (family Elephantidae)
17. Hippopotamuses (family Hippopotamidae)
18. Cape buffalos (Syncerus caffer caffer)
19. Crocodiles (except dwarf and Congo) (family Crocodilidae)
20. Gavials (family Gavialidae)
21. Black caimans (Melanosuchus niger)
22. Komodo dragons (Varanus komodoensis)"


I was aware of the meaning of "Class 1" in reference to animals
because my husband and I have been associated (on a volunteer basis)
with a wildlife rescue park which helps to rehabilitate wild animals
which have been abused and neglected by former owners who mistakenly
thought that they would make cute pets.

My Google search strategy:

Google Web Search: florida "class 1 OR I OR one" wildlife

I hope this is helpful! If anything is unclear or incomplete, please
request clarification; I'll be glad to offer further assistance before
you rate my answer.

Best regards,

Clarification of Answer by pinkfreud-ga on 05 Aug 2006 20:37 PDT
There is a typographical error in this sentence of my answer:

"For the purpose of permits for keeping wildlife in captivity, Florida
categorizes animals as Class I, Class I, and Class III."

This should have been as follows:

"For the purpose of permits for keeping wildlife in captivity, Florida
categorizes animals as Class I, Class II, and Class III."

I apologize for the error.


Request for Answer Clarification by jard1-ga on 06 Aug 2006 09:12 PDT
I have already rated your answer which was excellent. I should of
asked this last part however. How are killer whales and dolphins
rated? They and the polar bears are all at Sea World. Would the killer
whales also be rated class 1 because they are also dangerous? I will
pay an additional $10 for this answer.

Clarification of Answer by pinkfreud-ga on 06 Aug 2006 11:08 PDT
Thank you very much for the five-star rating and the generous tip!
Regarding your new question, since the killer whale (Orcinus orca)
does not appear on either the Class I or Class II lists, it would
technically be a Class III animal. I speculate that Florida did not
specifically categorize the killer whale because it is already covered
by Florida's marine mammals laws and by federal legislation.

jard1-ga rated this answer:5 out of 5 stars and gave an additional tip of: $5.00
Very detailed. I was very impressed and pleased with the research.
Definetely got the answer I was looking for. Thank you!

There are no comments at this time.

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy