Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: Driving in other states with a Learner's Permit ( Answered 5 out of 5 stars,   0 Comments )
Subject: Driving in other states with a Learner's Permit
Category: Relationships and Society > Law
Asked by: sylvia12-ga
List Price: $8.00
Posted: 07 Aug 2006 18:18 PDT
Expires: 06 Sep 2006 18:18 PDT
Question ID: 753635
A Mass. learner's permit is valid in states that do not prohibit it. I
want to know if my son can drive in ME, VT, NH, RI, NY.  Thanks.
Subject: Re: Driving in other states with a Learner's Permit
Answered By: tutuzdad-ga on 07 Aug 2006 20:14 PDT
Rated:5 out of 5 stars
Dear sylvia12-ga; 

Thank you for allowing me to answer your interesting question. As you
alluded to, Massachusetts recognizes a learner?s permit from all other
states except Montana, Washington State and British Columbia. Even so
one must covert the out-of-state ?junior operator license? (as it is
called in Massachusetts) to a Massachusetts permit before one can take
the road test.

FAQs About Learner?s Permits & Junior Operator Licenses Q & A Index

As for the others you asked about, believe it or not I actually found
pertinent information regarding all fifty states learner permit laws
here (in Illinois, of all places):


A person with a valid learner?s permit issued by his/her home state
can legally drive in Maine provided that person is at least 16 years
of age and adheres to all restrictions applied to the learner?s permit
issued by that person?s state or province.

Will ?NOT? accept any out of state learner?s permit.
Will accept any valid learner?s permit subject to restriction mandated
by the issuing state provided that issuing state accepts their state
permit. (Reciprocity)

New York will recognize another state?s learner?s permit subject to
the restrictions printed on it and the New York State restrictions for
junior driver licenses under 18.  A person with a valid out-of-state
license for the vehicle being driven may accompany a junior driver. 
You may not drive in New York state if you are under 16, even if you
are licensed in another state.  An out of state learner?s permit is
?NOT? valid in New York City.  In all areas of the state except New
York City, Nassau or Suffolk counties, a non-resident licensee under
18 years of age may operate a vehicle from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. when
accompanied by a licensed driver over 18 years of age.  He may operate
a motor vehicle between the hours of 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. only when
accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian.

I hope you find that my answer exceeds your expectations. If you have
any questions about my research please post a clarification request
prior to rating the answer. Otherwise I welcome your rating and your
final comments and I look forward to working with you again in the
near future. Thank you for bringing your question to us.

Best regards;

Tutuzdad-ga ? Google Answers Researcher


Defined above



Google ://


Learner permit

Junior operator license


sylvia12-ga rated this answer:5 out of 5 stars
Thanks for the very helpful answer!  Guess we will ski in Maine this
year instead of Vermont.

There are no comments at this time.

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy