Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: CV. Menara Indo ......SCAM? ( Answered,   1 Comment )
Subject: CV. Menara Indo ......SCAM?
Category: Business and Money > Small Businesses
Asked by: kaboot2-ga
List Price: $15.00
Posted: 14 Sep 2006 18:06 PDT
Expires: 14 Oct 2006 18:06 PDT
Question ID: 765429

I'm thinking of purchasing some items from a wholesaler in Indonesia 
called "CV. MENARA INDO"  (or MENARAID.NET) but I've never dealt with a
global trader before, and I'm concerned that the company may be a
scam. Can you let me know if they can be trusted (real or fake?) Their
website and contact info are below:

Head Office :Jln. Sisingamangaraja No. 255.Medan, Sumatera Utara.
20211. Indonesia.
Hotline Phone 24 hours : +62-85-830711933
Branch Office :Jln. Kapten Muslim d/h Millenium Plaza Lt.4.
Medan, Sumatera Utara. 20111. Indonesia. Po.Box : 253-A
Phone : +62-61-30304455

Company Name: CV.Menara Indo  
Contact Person: Mr. Rusdi Hutapea 
Address: Jln. Sisingamangaraja No. 255  
City: Medan 
Zip/Postal Code: 20211 
Country: Indonesia 
Business Phone: 62-61-30304455 
Subject: Re: CV. Menara Indo ......SCAM?
Answered By: scriptor-ga on 14 Sep 2006 18:53 PDT
Dear kaboot2,

I advise not to do any business with this company; they are a scam.

- I have checked their Web domain registration record. The domain
"" was registered only very recently, on 23 August 2006.
On the other hand, Menera Indo claim on their website that they exist
since 2001. It is hard to believe that an actual company would wait 5
years before doing something as essential as registering their domain.

- Also, the domain will expire already after only one year, on 23
August 2007. This is typical for online scams: The fraudsters use
"disposable" domains which they simply abandon once they are not of
use any longer.

- The company's address listed in the domain registration is Jl.
Sisingamangaraja N0.225, Medan, Sumatera Utara, 20222. That is a fake
address. The postal code 20222 does not at all belong to that street
in the city of Medan. Reputable companies don't use fake addresses to
register their domains. And there is more:

- The address of their "Head Office" they provide on their website is
fake, too. Now the address is suddenly Sisingamangaraja No.255, and
the postal code is 20211. Again, the postal code has nothing to do
with that street in reality.

- The address of their "Branch Office" (Jln. Kapten Muslim, Medan
20111) is just as fake. The real postal code of that street is 20123.

- And finally, no company of the name "Menara Indo" (CV indicates the
legal form) is listed anywhere in the official Indonesian companies

The conclusion: Menara Indo is a typical Indonesian scam site like
many others (their number is enormous) that has been put up very
recently. Again, I must advise not to trust them or do any business
with them.



Allwhois Domain Database

Indonesia News Online: Postal Codes of Medan

Indonesia Ministry of Industry: Companies Register
Subject: Re: CV. Menara Indo ......SCAM?
From: probonopublico-ga on 14 Sep 2006 21:46 PDT
Wow, Scriptor ...

You are SO good at this (as well as everything else).

Well done!


Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy