This is a question for Mahjong players of the world.
Here is the situation:
In a game, the East player discards a tile, let's call that tile "A".
South player can win the game with tile "A", but decided wait to build
a better winning hand (with more "fan"). As the South player reaches
for the wall in order to draw a new tile, the West player declares "hu"
to win the game, claiming tile "A" discarded by the East player. At
this point, the South player also declares "hu", intercepting West player's
West player contends that by reaching for the wall to draw a new tile,
the South player has given up on tile "A" that the East Player has just
discarded, hence is ineligible to claim it for the intercepting win.
South player argues that the South position has the initiative after the
East player made the discard, hence the South Player has the priority to make
the final decision on whether or not to claim tile "A" for the win.
Which player is in compliance with the official Mahjong rule in the situation
above? South or West?