Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: Not able to open website ( Answered,   6 Comments )
Subject: Not able to open website
Category: Computers > Internet
Asked by: jeanmanga-ga
List Price: $10.00
Posted: 08 Feb 2003 15:57 PST
Expires: 10 Mar 2003 15:57 PST
Question ID: 158909
I recently subscribed to a consulting firm whose web adress was
http// .For the past few days I have not been
able to access the web site,{Either because it has been removedor it
is been worked on or the server can't find it}. Is there any way to
find out if the website and the company behind it truly exist or it is
just another scam?
Subject: Re: Not able to open website
Answered By: tutuzdad-ga on 08 Feb 2003 16:55 PST
Dear jeanmanga-ga;

Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to answer your interesting

According to, a database of web domain ownership, the web site is owned by a company called “MyLife, Inc.”
located in Mount Airy, Maryland (USA). It also owns at least one other
web domain called is also down at the
moment, by the way).

You can contact Inc at:
Operator: Martin Vendemia mvendemia@HOTMAIL.COM
3809 Purdum Drive
Mount Airy , MD 21771
Phone: 301-529-7347 
FAX: 301-831-0083

Or their technical contact (which is probably their Internet Service
Provider or their web host):

2300 NW 89th Place, Dept H
Miami, FL 33172
Phone: 305-717-6600
Fax: 786-845-1694

Alternatively, here is another email address for Inc., but
keep in mind that if their web site has been taken down, this email
address is probably disabled too.


It’s impossible to know the reason why the web site is not working at
the moment or if it is illegitimate by simply following a few links.
Your best information will come from the company itself or the service
that provides their Internet gateway. If there is something wrong with
the site (unpaid bill, technical problem, snow storm, etc) then it
should be back up in a few days. If you try to email, you
may actually get a response (they might not even know their site is
down). On the other hand, if this is a scam and they are closing up
shop and packing their bags, they’re not likely to tell you that. I’d
recommend you contact the service provider first and ask if there is a
reason why the site cannot be accessed. They may tell you there is a
problem or they may tell you the site has been removed – either by the
owner or by some other authority. At any rate, you should be the one
to make these contacts, as you are the one who has an actual interest
in the business. Besides, if you are told by the ISP that something
fishy is going on you might even be able to obtain additional
information from them on how to go about lodging a complaint (if you
have one). I suspect that the contact information I have provided you
with is, at the very least, more information than you had when you
first came here with your question.

Below you will find that I have carefully defined my search strategy
for you in the event that you need to search for more information. By
following the same type of searches that I did you may be able to
enhance the research I have provided even further. I hope you find
that that my research exceeds your expectations. If you have any
questions about my research please post a clarification request prior
to rating the answer. Otherwise, I welcome your rating and your final
comments and I look forward to working with you again in the near
future. Thank you for bringing your question to us.

Best regards;






Google ://







Clarification of Answer by tutuzdad-ga on 08 Feb 2003 20:48 PST
Another astute researcher also pointed this site out to me which
confirms the information I gave you:

Subject: Re: Not able to open website
From: pocoloco-ga on 08 Feb 2003 18:44 PST
Dear jeanmanga-ga,

Just to add one more point to tutuzdad's excellent detective work . .
. You say that "I recently subscribed to a consulting firm . . . "  I
am assuming this means that you paid them a fee or began a
subscription using a credit card.  If you come to believe that the
operation is fraudulent, then you should immediately write to your
credit card issuer disputing the charges.  Both state and federal laws
give you the right to dispute credit card charges in situations when
"goods or services were misrepresented, defective, or not delivered." 
Actually, you have greater protection from fraudulent vendors when you
pay by credit card than when you pay by check!  However, in order to
preserve your rights, you must complain to your credit card company in
writing within 60 days of the date of the billing statement containing
the charge.  And, of course, you will want to put a block on any
future charges by this vendor.


"Fair Credit Billing"

"Disputing Credit Card Charges"

"Clear Card Payment Services"



Google :// 

disputing fraudulent credit card charges
Subject: Re: Not able to open website
From: bobthedispatcher-ga on 08 Feb 2003 18:48 PST
From Google's listing:
"Guaranteed Millionaire - The Guarantee
... First, let me introduce myself. My name is Martin Vendemia. I am
the President/CEO/Founder
of (same site). ..."

and the domain registration
Martin Vendemia 

Their corporate headquarters
which you have probably not visited

A nice 4 bedroom split level that he bought about 4 years ago

Now I am certainly not one to tell you what to do with your money, but
I will say that the implied promise in a site named "guaranteed
millionare" is that HE intends to do just that, for himself.

Perhaps the Maryland States Atty Generals office could get more

Good Luck
Subject: Re: Not able to open website
From: steph1000-ga on 09 Feb 2003 01:54 PST
Here is what the way back machine found:*/
Subject: Re: Not able to open website
From: steph1000-ga on 09 Feb 2003 02:04 PST
Was your credit card information the only thing he got from you? Did
you also give him your social security number? Or the names and
addresses of personal and professional references?
Subject: Re: Not able to open website
From: steph1000-ga on 09 Feb 2003 02:26 PST
For what it's worth, here is what a search on his fax number
301-831-0083 yielded.
(be patient, this directory takes a while to load)
I don't know if this is any use to you, but the dates coincide, so
this Barbara character could be related to him.
Subject: Re: Not able to open website
From: steph1000-ga on 09 Feb 2003 02:31 PST
Scratch that, this Barbara character is related to him, since his
current fax number appears twice in the same directory under the name
of Barbara and under the name Vendemia International.

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy