Prayer for judgement
Asked by: krconway53-ga
List Price: $10.00
03 Sep 2003 13:34 PDT
Expires: 03 Oct 2003 13:34 PDT
Question ID: 251894
What is a prayer for judgement?
Re: Prayer for judgement
Answered By: tar_heel_v-ga on 03 Sep 2003 19:41 PDT
krconway53.. Thanks for your question. Being a North Carolinian myself and having gone through speeding tickets and having a Prayer for Judgement (PJC) I hope I can help you with your needs. A "Prayer for Judgement" citation means that the court reserves the right to pass judgement later. The driver is charged the cost of court, no decision is rendered, and no points are assigned (except for a third Prayer Judgement citation within five years.) The judge can come back and finalize the citation later. A household can use on PJC as long as no-one else has used a PJC in the last three years. If another violation occurs in the 3 years a PJC is on your record, both violations (and related points) get placed on your driving record. Getting a PJC will depend on the judge and the violation. When I received mine, I spoke with the DA and had the speed lowered to 9 mph over the speed limit. I later learned that NC DMV regulations state that at 9 or less over the speed limit, there are no drivers license points. I am not a lawyer and this answer does not constitute legal advice. If you need any additional clarification, please let me know. Regards, -THV Search Strategy: "Prayer for judgement" North Carolina speeding PJC North Carolina References: THE HIGH (and hidden) COSTS OF TRAFFIC TICKETS http://www.plylerlaw.com/in.html A Partial List of MVR Related Terms - Sorted by State http://www.iix.com/support/iix/mvrstuff/state.htm
Re: Prayer for judgement
From: magnesium-ga on 03 Sep 2003 18:09 PDT
This might help: What is a Prayer for Judgment Continuance (PJC)? "PJC" stands for Prayer for Judgment Continuance. It is a judge-made remedy, available in some cases to suspend indefinitely the court's judgment in a case. In most traffic cases, a PJC is not a conviction and will not result in an increase in automobile insurance premiums. It is important to remember two sets of rules when contemplating the request: the rules of the Division of Motor Vehicles and the rules of your insurance company. Typically, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles is going to disregard a third or subsequent PJC in a five year period. In other words, if you already have two PJCs and you get another, it will be ignored by the DMV and your record will reflect a conviction for the charge on which you were granted the PJC. Also, remember that insurance companies will only "honor" a single PJC in a three-year period, pursuant to a North Carolina General Statute commonly referred to as the Safe Driver Incentive Plan. http://www.ncspeeder.com/html/faq.html
If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
|Search Google Answers for|