Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: Specific Rule in Monopoly ( No Answer,   2 Comments )
Subject: Specific Rule in Monopoly
Category: Miscellaneous
Asked by: alphanode-ga
List Price: $6.00
Posted: 09 Jul 2006 21:57 PDT
Expires: 08 Aug 2006 21:57 PDT
Question ID: 744803
In the game Monopoly, there are two cards (one Chance one Community
Chest) where the player has to pay money for houses and hotels.  The EXACT
wording on the cards are as follows:

Chance Card: Make General Repairs On All Your Property - for Each
house pay $25 for each hotel $100
Community Chest: You are assessed for street repairs - $40 per house $115 per hotel

The chance card is very specific that you pay for only YOUR PROPERTY. 
However, the community chest card lacks this wording.  The question
is... if a player draws the community chest card and has no houses or
hotels, BUT there are houses and hotels on the board owned by other
players, must the player who drew the card pay the amount listed on
the cards for the other players houses and hotels?  I would like to
know the official ruling on this.


Request for Question Clarification by pinkfreud-ga on 09 Jul 2006 23:22 PDT
Does this provide a fully satisfactory answer?

"From an insert found in many current MonopolyŽ games...
When assessed for street repairs, pay for all houses and hotels you
own on the entire board at that time."

"Is there any difference between the 'Street Repairs' card in
Community Chest and the 'General Repairs' card in Chance?

Essentially, no. Both cards ask you to do the same thing, just in
slightly differing amounts. You are to pay based on the number of
houses and hotels you (and only you) own at the time of drawing the
card. If you don't own any, you don't have to pay anything. If you do,
add up the total number of houses and hotels from you own -- from
every side of the board -- and pay the appropriate amount. Also, if
you do not have the cash to pay, and you sell houses and hotels to the
bank to pay the bill, you STILL have to pay the full fee, even though
you sold the houses or hotels your paying on."
There is no answer at this time.

Subject: Re: Specific Rule in Monopoly
From: borisshah-ga on 09 Jul 2006 22:51 PDT
Hi! This is a very interesting and tricky question. I would say that
both of them only mean YOUR property though the wording is different.
It does not make sense that you would have to pay for your opponents
houses and Hotels (Ever had to pay for your next-door neighbour's
renovations or extensions?) but its a very good question and I would
love to see the answer.
Subject: Re: Specific Rule in Monopoly
From: canadianhelper-ga on 10 Jul 2006 05:59 PDT
In order to address your question I have just played a round of
Monopoly on my computer.

This is an officially licensed version and should therefore follow the
official rules.

You pay just for your OWN properties.

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy