Google Answers Logo
View Question
Q: Driving from Virginia to Connecticut on a Learners Permit ( Answered 5 out of 5 stars,   1 Comment )
Subject: Driving from Virginia to Connecticut on a Learners Permit
Category: Relationships and Society > Law
Asked by: pcbene-ga
List Price: $12.50
Posted: 30 Oct 2006 12:18 PST
Expires: 29 Nov 2006 12:18 PST
Question ID: 778528
I am 16 years 1 month old, and I have a learner's permit from the
Commonwealth of Virginia issued March 28th 2006. Do any of the states
on the route from Virginia to Connecticut (D.C., NY, CT, MD, PA) have
laws that would prevent me from driving there (with an adult)? Are
there any restrictions I should be aware of (curfews passenger
restrictions, ect)?
Subject: Re: Driving from Virginia to Connecticut on a Learners Permit
Answered By: nenna-ga on 30 Oct 2006 13:03 PST
Rated:5 out of 5 stars
Hello pcbene-ga,

I assume you know the Virginia Laws since you got your permit there.
Let?s talk about the other states you?ll be driving through. First
off, call all the DMV?s that I link below for each state. (Look for a
?Contact Us? button or something similar) I?ll list the Lerner?s
Permit laws for each state below, but please call before your trip and
determine if your Virginia Permit is honored the same as a state
issued Lerner?s Permit for the state you?ll be driving through.

Washington DC:
You are permitted to drive everyday -  6:00am - 9:00pm

You must be accompanied by an adult who is over 21, has a valid
license and is in the front with you at all times. You must wear your
seatbelt, you may NOT operate a commercial vehicle, you may not use a
mobile phone with or without a headset/ hands-free device while
driving, and you can not operate a vehicle for compensation.

Teen Drivers Washington DC -

Google Search
Learners permit Washington DC

New York:
Woo Hoo! ? NY has some very complicated rules for junior drivers and permits. 
Please visit for driver
information for various parts of the state.

Some of the common themes are that you must have only a licensed
driver over the age of 21 in the front seat with you and you can drive
from 5 AM to 9PM. If this person is not your parent you must have a
signed form giving your partner ?In Loco Parentis? designated in

In NYC (5 Boroughs) the car must have dual brakes
In anywhere except NYC and Long Island you can also drive between 9PM
and 5AM with a licensed driver over 21 in the front seat with you.


Google Search:
Learners Permit New York

You may drive with ?a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and
has held a license for a minimum of four consecutive years.?

Google Search:
Learners permit Connecticut

A licensed driver over 21 may be the only person in the front seat
with you while driving. They must have their license for a minimum of
3 years. You may not use a mobile phone with or without a headset/
hands-free device while driving unless it?s an Emergency.

Google Search
Learners permit Maryland


11Pm to 5Am driving restriction. No more passengers than there are
seat belts in the vehicle.

21 or older licensed driver in front seat at all times ?or a parent,
guardian, person officially designated ?in loco parentis? or spouse at
least 18 years of age?

Google Search:
Learners permit Pennsylvania

I hope you have a safe drive and get some good driving practice ?

If this answer requires further explanation, please request
clarification before rating it, and I'll be happy to look into this

Google Answers Researcher
pcbene-ga rated this answer:5 out of 5 stars and gave an additional tip of: $2.50
Excellent answer for the offered amount. I am going to relist a
clarified question for a higher amount. But, still an excellent answer

Subject: Re: Driving from Virginia to Connecticut on a Learners Permit
From: veconofix-ga on 30 Oct 2006 20:01 PST
I'm not a lawyer, and the provided answer is quite comprehensive
concerning the requirements for a learner's permit in various states.

We in the United States are a Federation of states, and one of the
"deals" between the states is that they honor each other's driver's
licenses and license plates.. If you change residency to another
state, or you and your vehicle remain in a particular state you might
be required to get a tag for your vehicle in the state it stays in,
but you need to have a driver's license in one state only.

It is, in fact illegal in some states (maybe all) to have more than
one driver's license!!!

So I would think that a valid license issued in one state would be
valid using the terms of issue in that particular state, regardless of
the requirements of the state you travel to.

This of course does not apply to individual traffic laws: most notable
is the "right on red after stop:" some states have it, (Florida, for
one) and other states do not.  Cops and courts show little sympathy
with the logic "Well, it's leal in Florida!!!"

Important Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided on Google Answers are general information, and are not intended to substitute for informed professional medical, psychiatric, psychological, tax, legal, investment, accounting, or other professional advice. Google does not endorse, and expressly disclaims liability for any product, manufacturer, distributor, service or service provider mentioned or any opinion expressed in answers or comments. Please read carefully the Google Answers Terms of Service.

If you feel that you have found inappropriate content, please let us know by emailing us at with the question ID listed above. Thank you.
Search Google Answers for
Google Answers  

Google Home - Answers FAQ - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy